Friday, February 6, 2009

Two Batswana Writers are Finalists in New SA/PEN Short Story Contest


4th February 2009

2009 PEN/Studzinski Literary Award finalists announced

The South African Centre of International PEN (SA PEN) is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2009 PEN/Studzinski Literary Award.

The award for original short stories in English by African authors attracted an unprecedented 827 entries, 625 of which met with the rules of entry. Just under 200 stories were longlisted, and 34 stories were chosen as finalists by the PEN Editorial Board comprising Shaun Johnson (Chair), Anthony Fleischer, Justin Fox, Harry Garuba, Alistair King and Mary Watson. Nobel Laureate JM Coetzee is currently judging the shortlisted stories and will choose the winners of the first (£5 000), second (£3 000) and third (£2 000) prizes. The winners will be announced in May 2009. (Details regarding the announcement will be posted on in due course.) The finalists’ stories will be included in an anthology of new writing from Africa to be published later this year.

The writers and their stories to have been selected as finalists for the Pen/Studzinski Literary Award 2009 are:

Ken Barris – The life of Worm
Nadia Davids – The visit
Ceridwen Dovey – Survival mechanisms
Joan du Toit – An informed decision
Graham Ellis – No match for Fanie Smith
Rosemund J Handler – Strident night
Jeanne Hromnik – Love In troubled times
Karen Jayes – Where he will leave his shoes
Suzanne Jordaan – Beulah
Bobby Jordan – Metalhead and Situation Orange
Chisanga Kabinga – Display cabinet
Ken N Kamoche – A kiss in Nanjing
Yvette Kruger – What I wore
Lauri Kubuitsile – Pulani’s eyes
Beatrice Lamwaka – The star in my camp
Jennifer Lean – To each his own
Irene McCartney – Pauline’s ghost
Jenna Mervis – The lives of dogs
Kirsten Miller – Only in art
NoViolet Mkha Bulawayo – Snapshots
Wame Molefhe – Rainbow-coloured dreams
Natasha Moodley – Spirit of Madala
Isabella Morris – Bluette
Kyne Nislev Bernstorff – The last supper
Naomi Nkealah – In the name of peace
Maik Nwosu – In Leopardville
Tolu Ogunlesi – River Falling
Omolola Ijeoma Ogunyemi – Area boy rescue
Andrew Salomon – A visit to Dr Mamba
Alex Smith – Soulmates
Dineke Volschenk – Glorious wounds
Phillippa Yaa de Villiers – Keeping everything the same
Hayet Z – Flypapered days

The PEN/STUDZINSKI Literary Award has replaced the HSBC/SA PEN Literary Award and aims to encourage new creative writing in Africa. It is open to all citizens of African countries writing in English, and offers talented writers on the continent an exciting opportunity to develop or launch a literary career.

Media enquiries: Lesley Lambert Tel: +27 (0)83 326 2500
Administrative enquiries: Deborah Horn-Botha Tel: +27 (0)21 701 8510

1 comment:

tj dema said...

congratulations ladies!